# MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING PERU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT 124 MAY 15, 2025, 6:00 PM

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The special meeting of the month of May of the Board of Education of Peru Elementary School District 124, LaSalle County, Illinois, was called to order at the Learning Resource Center at Parkside Middle School by Board President Rob Ankiewicz on Wednesday, May 15, 2025, at 6:00 p.m.

### **ROLL CALL**

PRESENT: Members Austin Taylor, Jessica Skolek, Vice President Simon Kampwerth, and President Rob Ankiewicz. ABSENT: Alison Goode

**MOTION:** Moved by Vice President Kampwerth, seconded by Member Taylor, to approve the special meeting agenda of May 15, 2025. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Kampwerth, Taylor, Skolek, and Ankiewicz. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 4-0.** 

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

**MOTION:** Moved by Taylor, seconded by Skolek, to adjourn to Executive Session at 6:02 p.m. for the discussion of information regarding the consideration and appointment of a member to fill a board vacancy of public office. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Taylor, Skolek, Ankiewicz, and Kampwerth. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 4-0.** 

# **RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION**

**MOTION:** Moved by Taylor, seconded by Skolek, to return to Regular Session at 7:53 p.m. ROLL CALL, VOTING AYE: Taylor, Skolek, Kampwerth, and Ankiewicz. NAYS: None. **The motion carried 4-0.** 

## **ACTION ITEMS AFTER EXECUTIVE SESSION**

**Approval of Appointment of a Member to Fill a Board Vacancy of Public Office MOTION:** Moved by member Taylor, seconded by Skolek to appoint John Atkins to fill a 2year seat for a board vacancy of public office for Peru ESD 124. AYE 4, NAY 0. **The motion carried 4-0.** 

**MOTION:** Moved by member Taylor, seconded by Skolek to appoint Justin Miller to fill a 2-year seat for a board vacancy of public office for Peru ESD 124. AYE 4, NAY 0. **The motion carried 4-0.** 

# **ADJOURNMENT**

**MOTION:** Moved by Vice President Kampwerth, seconded by Member Skolek, to adjourn at 7:54 p.m. AYE 4, NAY 0. **The motion carried 4-0.** 

Rob Ankiewicz, Board President	Megan Baltikauski, Board Secretary